Joshua's math-ology

Get it fast, get it right

Who am I?

Actually, if you think about it, this is one of the most confusing questions in the world. The answer varies according to the context in which the question is asked. You can answer this question in a myriad of ways, and yet all of them are equally true.

If you are a believer in mathematics, then everything can be seen in absolution. If truth is absolute, then there is only one truth. Everything else is false. There is no such thing as in between. It’s either you are right, or you are wrong. That is why maths papers are very easy to mark 🙂

Let’s try to apply the principle of absolute truth in answering a very simple question. “Who are you?”

I’m sure you can come up with at least 10 answers in a minute. “I am Joshua. I am the son of Hooi Meng Sooi. I am a teacher. I am the founding president of Team Miracle Mile. I am a human being. I am a Chinese male. I am a Malaysian. I am a Christian. I am Mei Yee’s husband. I am a Penangite. I am, etc etc…”

Each answer has meaning only to a certain group of people. If you are dealing with an international body, your citizenship is who you are. If you are going for an interview, your job is who you are. If you are working in an organization, your rank is who you are. If you are found unconscious in a ditch with no ID, then your race, age and gender is who you are.

Back to the principle of absolute truth. One is true, all others are false. For truth to be true, there cannot be more than one.

So…

  1. If there are multiple true answers about who you are, then there is no one, true answer.
  2. If there is no one, true answer, then there is no truth in the answer.
  3. If there is no truth in the answer, then who are you?

* * * * * * * * * *

Anyway, this is who I am…

By that piece of paper, you can tell a lot about me. What degree I graduated with, where I got the degree from, what I officially know in my brain, what I am certified to do as a vocation, and how old I am.

The rock star of mathematics

By that picture alone, you can tell a lot more! It says something about my personality, what I dare to do, and what I can do. Given the opportunity, I can turn your math score from zero to hero.

Joshua’s mathematics can be trusted. And you can trust him too!

August 28, 2010 - Posted by | Joshua's math-ology

1 Comment »

  1. Even in Maths, there are more than one answer. E.g.
    (x-1)*(x-3) = 0 Ans: 1 or 3

    Both are true.
    Implication: We inherently more complex than a quadratic equation.

    Comment by Bing | August 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

